Hanken's search service Hanna gives you access to a wide range of material through only one search. You get access to printed (only material available in Helsinki) and electronic materials, such as e-books, theses, scholarly articles in full text as well as scientific databases.
Watch the film clip below to get started using Hanna. The tutorial (1:33) is made by the Hanken library.
For your university studies you need to learn how to access peer reviewed and high quality scholarly sources through the library's databases. Using information found for example only through Google or Wikipedia is not enough.
Some of the library's material is available as printed books or journals on the library shelves, but most of the material is found online in scientific databases. The scientific databases offered for Hanken's students and staff are accessible only with your personal Hanken user name and password. You can access the resources on remote, 24/7.
Watch the film from NEIU Libraries (1:22) to learn more about library databases:
The databases listed below are licensed and only available for Hanken students and staff. Choose any of the databases to find peer reviewed scholarly articles directly in the user interface of the database. The databases are international, use search words in English.
The anatomy of a journal article is explained in the following illustration, created by the American Psychological Association (APA) (see link below). This pictures helps you identify and read scientific journal articles.
Source: American Psychological Association. (2023). Anatomy of a journal article. https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/anatomy-journal-article.pdf
As a student at Hanken you have access to about 1 million e-books on the various e-book platforms offered by the library.
Visit the Libguide on e-books (link below), to find out more on the different platforms and instructions for how to access the books and downloading them.
A free web search engine for scientific publications.
The library offers lectures/workshops in information retrieval and tools that are useful when using information. These workshops are available to everyone at Hanken. Registration ends the previous working day by 4pm. Contact library@hanken.fi in case you have any questions.
You can also book individual tutoring via the library's booking calendar.
| Library workshops 2025 | Time | Place | Registration |
| Research data management for your studies or thesis. Are you collecting personal data for your thesis or research project? We’ll explain the essentials. | Thu 30.1 at 14:15-14:45 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Learn to efficiently search for journal articles. Find your way in the jungle of library databases. Become more efficient and systematic in your literature searches. We’ll show you how to handle large search results. We also discuss AI-tools for information searching. | Thu 6.2 at 14:15-15:15 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Referencing APA7-style. Get a fresh start in referencing! Learn the correct reference technique to avoid plagiarism in your papers. This workshop covers the essentials of the APA7 citation style. | Thu 13.2 at 14:15-15:00 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Format documents in Word. This workshop helps you get all the settings in MS Word right to make your document follow Hanken’s standard template. | Thu 20.2 at 14:15-15:00 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Find theses from DHanken and other repositories You will learn how to use DHanken to find Master’s and Doctoral theses from Hanken. We’ll also show how to find theses from other universities. |
Thu 20.2 at 15:00-15:30 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Reference management with Zotero. We’ll present Zotero, a free program that helps you improve your reference management by creating automatic citations and reference lists in your documents, according to APA7, Oxford or other reference styles. | Thu 27.2 at 14:15-14:45 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Explore AI-tools for your literature search. Curious on how AI-tools that can be used for literature search? We will explore a selection of AI-tools to see how these can complement and inspire your search process, and perhaps make it more effective. |
Thu 6.3 at 14:15-15:00 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Research data management for your studies or thesis. Are you collecting personal data for your thesis or research project? We’ll explain the essentials. | Thu 20.3 at 14:15-14:45 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Learn to efficiently search for journal articles. Find your way in the jungle of library databases. Become more efficient and systematic in your literature searches. We’ll show you how to handle large search results. We also discuss AI-tools for information searching. | Thu 27.3 at 14:15-15:15 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Referencing APA7-style. Get a fresh start in referencing! Learn the correct reference technique to avoid plagiarism in your papers. This workshop covers the essentials of the APA7 citation style. | Thu 3.4 at 14:15-15:00 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Format documents in Word. This workshop helps you get all the settings in MS Word right to make your document follow Hanken’s standard template. | Thu 10.4 at 14:15-15:00 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
| Reference management with Zotero. We’ll present Zotero, a free program that helps you improve your reference management by creating automatic citations and reference lists in your documents, according to APA7, Oxford or other reference styles. | Thu 24.4 at 14:15-14:45 | Teams | Sign up before 4pm the previous work day https://link.webropolsurveys.com/S/F072EC1BD4CF7221 |
The electronic resources are available in the network of Hanken School of Economics or through remote access. Remote access requires the Hanken user ID and password.
Download Libkey Nomad browser extension at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ for alternative off-campus access to licensed e-resources.
Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licences of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.