Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for new students

Welcome to Hanken's Library! This guide is aimed for helping new students on all levels getting started using the Hanken Library services. Here you also find useful tips on how to search information in databases and how to use proper reference technique.

Use Hanna to find literature

Hanken's search service Hanna gives you access to a wide range of material through only one search. You get access to printed (only material available in Helsinki) and electronic materials, such as e-books, theses, scholarly articles in full text as well as scientific databases.

Watch the film clip below to get started using Hanna. The tutorial (1:33) is made by the Hanken library.

NB. Students in Vaasa use the search service of Vaasa city library to find printed books.

What are scientific databases?

Using only Google or Wikipedia is not enough for your university studies. You need to learn how to access peer reviewed and high quality scholarly sources through library databases.

Some of the library's material is available as books or journals on the library shelves, but most of the material is found online in scientific databases. The scientific databases offered for Hanken students and staff are accessible only with Hanken user name and password. You access the resources on remote, 24/7.

Watch the film from La Trobe University Library (2:02) to learn more about library databases:

The databases listed below are licensed and only available for Hanken students and staff. Choose any of the databases to find peer reviewed scholarly articles directly in the user interface of the database. The databases are international, use search words in English.

What are scholarly articles and scholarly journals?

Learn more about the characteristics of scholarly publications:

E-books

As a student at Hanken you have access to more than 600.000 e-books on the various e-book platforms offered by the library. Visit the Libguide on e-books, to find out more on the different platforms and instructions for how to access the books and downloading them.

      

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

A free web search engine for scientific publications.

Library training, search help and guidance

Library training and information searching classes are integrated in the curriculum for Hanken's first year students. Information searching and referencing workshops designed to support your studies are also offered throughout the academic year. These workshops are available to everyone, no matter study year or background.

Library's open workshops autumn 2021 Date Location /Recording Slides
Learn to efficiently search for journal articles 6.9 at 10.15-11.45 Recording Click here
Referencing: do it right and do it quick!   9.9 at 8.30-10.00    Recording Click here
Introduction to Mendeley 15.9 at 10.15-11.15     Online, register here  
Introduction to Mendeley 12.10 at 12.30-13.30 Online, register here  
Introduction to Mendeley 15.11 at 10.15-11.15 Online, register here  
Introduction to Mendeley 8.12 at 12.30-13.30 Online, register here  

More information on training and workshops offered by the library is found on the library website. E-mail us if you can not find a suitable course or time among the ones offered. We also offer individual guidance.

Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access

The electronic resources are available in the network of Hanken School of Economics or through remote access. Remote access requires the Hanken user ID and password.

Download Libkey Nomad browser extension at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ for alternative off-campus access to licensed e-resources.

License agreeements

Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licences of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.