Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Data Management

For BSc/MSc/eMBA students – data management stages

Stage 1. Fill in data processing description.

  • All Hanken students need to fill in the e-form Record of data processing activities for students.
  • It is important that you identify your data types as different data types might have different data management requirements. Definitions of different data types are specified in the form.
  • Follow the instructions in the form if you are handling sensitive or confidential data or data that require an Ethical review.

Stage 2. Inform your research participants/informants/respondents/subjects about data collection.

  • Follow the instructions in the e-form Record of data processing activities for students.
  • Use the different notes in the form to inform your research participants about data management, for example, how you handle direct identifier information and when you erase your data.
  • If you plan to save and store your data for later and shared use in research other than completing your thesis/assignment (e.g., for a scientific publication), provide this information as well to your research participants.

Stage 3. Store and back up data securely during research in data storage services provided and maintained by Hanken (see Data storage and backup and Data security).

Stage 4: Delete the data no later than 12 months after the thesis is submitted.

  • If you plan to store, reuse or share your data for academic purposes other than completing your thesis/assignment (e.g., for a scientific publication), discuss this with your supervisor.

For researchers and doctoral students – data management stages

(1) Before data collection (during research planning phase)

Stage 1. Consider open access publication outlets and options.

Stage 2. Write and update continuously a data management plan (DMP). 

Stage 3. You need to fill in the ethical review request e-form and submit to Hanken’s Research Ethics Committee if your study is one of the six types described in  Ethical review.

(2) Data collection (during active research phase)

Stage 4. You need to ask for consent from research participants if you collect personal data from them or if the personal data are received from a source other than the research participants. See Collecting personal data in the section  Data collection.

Stage 5. Store and back up data securely during research. See  Data storage and backup.

  • Use data storage services provided and maintained by Hanken.
(3) After data collection (sharing results)

Stage 6. Write a research article and publish it open access.      

Stage 7. Register your publications and data in Haris, see Haris - Hanken's research database in LibGuides.

  • Register your publications in Haris. Remember to upload the post-print version or the publisher’s final pdf to Hairs (see Which version of the article can I self-archive?).
  • Register your dataset in Haris. Remember to add a link to the repository where you have stored or published the data.

Stage 8. Open and publish your data, see Data sharing and preservation.

  • Check re3data.org to find a suitable repository. General repositories include AilaIDA, Zenodo, Dryad, and Figshare.
  • Data with personal information can only be published anonymized. For more information, see Anonymisation and Personal Data by the Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD).
  • If your data has long-term value, consider archiving your data in Fairdata-PAS maintained by the Ministry of Education and Culture.

Research data lifecycle

Research data lifecycle

Research Data Lifecycle (by DTU AIS Bibliometrics and Data Management - licensed under CC0 1.0).