See also personal communication.
A book citation, namely a monograph, should contain information on the author, title, and publisher. Use italics for the book title. Use the information given on the title page, not the information on the book-cover.
If the book is published as part of a series, also add the name of the series and which number in the series the publication has. Also add the DOI number if there is. If the book you are citing is a 2nd or later edition, add which edition you have used in the reference list. Always italicise the title in the reference list.
Read more about citing sources with more than two authors here.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Sikarskie, 2021)
Example: (Bodie & Kane, 2021)
Template: Surname, Inital. (Year). Title. Publisher. DOI
Template: Surname, X., & Surname, X. (Year). Title (edition). Publisher. DOI
Example: Bodie, Z. & Kane, A. (2021). Investments.12th edition, international student edition. McGraw-Hill Education.
Example: Sikarskie, A. G. (2021). Storytelling in luxury fashion: Brands, visual cultures, and technologies. Routledge.
E-books are usually identical to the printed version. If you cite an e-book from an e-book database, cite it exactly as if you cite a printed book. If the e-book has a DOI number (Digital object identifier), add that at the end of the reference in the reference list. If an e-book is freely accessible online and does not have a DOI, enter the URL instead.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: According to Wang (2008), ...
Example: (Carroll & Zettetrling, 2009)
Template: Author, Initial. (Year). Title. Publisher. DOI/URL
Example: Wang, J. (2008). Brand new China: advertising, media and commercial culture. Harvard University Press.
Example: Carroll, J. & Zetterling, C-M. (2009). Guiding students away from plagiarism. KTH Learning Lab.https://www.tvrl.lth.se/fileadmin/tvrl/files/Guidingstudents_plagiarism.pdf
Template: (author, year)
Example: (Foucault, 2011)
Template: Author, Initial. (Year). Title. (Initial. Translator’s surname, Trans. edition). Publisher. (Original work published year).
Example: Foucault, M. (2011). Madness: The invention of an idea. (A. Sheridan, Trans.). Harper Perennial Modern Thought. (Original work published 1954).
An edited book consists of a collection of texts by different authors, which were collected by an editor. The different authors contribute with articles or chapters. Typical edited books are textbooks, conference publications or yearbooks. If you cite the book as a whole, see Editors.
It is more common to only cite a specific article or chapter in an edited book. When citing a specific chapter (article) in an edited book, the author of the chapter is included in the in-text citation and is the main entry in the reference list.
In the reference list, the information on the specific chapter is given first, and thereafter the information on the book as a whole follows. Add an In before the book information. Also add (Ed.) after the name of the editor and the page numbers in which the chapter appears. The title of the book is written in italics.
Template: (Chapter/article author, year)
Example: (Celik, 2019)
Example: (Dorfman, 2003)
Example: According to Leyshon (2003), ...
Template: Author, Initial (Year). Chapter title. In Editors Initial Surname (Ed.), Title of edited book.(edition, p. xx-xx). Publisher. DOI
Example: Celik, U. (2019). Survival analysis of a bank marketing campaign. In Ö. Yilmaz (Ed.), New Trends in Management Studies. (p. 179-192). Peter Lang.
Example: Dorfman, P. W. (2003). International and cross-cultural leadership research. In B. J. Punnett & O. Shenkar (Eds.), Handbook for international management. (p. 265-355). University of Michigan Press.
Example: Leyshon, A. (2003). Money and finance. In E. Sheppard. & T.L. Barnes (Eds.), A companion to economic geography. (Blackwell companions to geography 2). (p. 432-449). Blackwell.
A reference to a thesis or dissertation should contain the name of the university and type of thesis, e.g., master’s thesis or dissertation (diss.). If you have used an e-version, add the database/archive name and URL.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Vozian, 2022)
Template:
Author, Initial. (Year). Thesis title. []Type of thesis, Name of university]. Database name/ Archive name. URL
Print:
Andersson, T. (2008). Leadership and effective management. [Master’s thesis, Hanken School of Economics].
From database or publication archive:
Vozian, K. (2022). Understanding financial stability: climate-related considerations and financial markets operations. [Doctoral dissertation, Hanken School of Economics]. Dhanken. https://helda.helsinki.fi/dhanken/handle/10227/524348
Yoa Liu, L. (2020). Do auditors help prevent data breaches? [Doctoral dissertation, University of Chicago Booth School of Business]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
When citing an encyclopedia article by an author, the main entry is the author followed by the year of publication, article title, and encyclopaedia title. The encyclopaedia title is italicized. When citing an online encyclopaedia, add the URL. If the encyclopedia you cite is one that is regularly being updated, add the date of access and replace the publishing year with n.d. (=no date).
Template: (author, year)
Example: Defining body language... (Simmering, 2006)...
Example: Assets can... ( Lee & Lee, 2015)
Template: Author, Initial (Year). Entry word. In Encyclopaedia title. Publisher. URL
Example: Simmering, M.J. (2006). Body language. In M. M. Helms (Eds.) Encyclopedia of management. 5 ed. Gale.
Example: Lee, A.C. and Lee, C.-F. (Eds.). (2015). Assets Requirements. In Encyclopedia of Finance. Springer.
When citing an unsigned article in an encyclopaedia, the publisher is the main entry. When citing an online encyclopaedia, add the year for the latest update, the entry word, URL, and date of access.
Template: (Group author, year)
Example: (Investopedia, n.d.)
Template Publisher (Year). Entry word. In Encyclopedia titel. Accesse date from URL.
Example Investopedia (n.d.). Accounting cycle.In Investopedia. Accessed 10.05.2023 from https://www.investopedia.com/terms/a/accounting-cycle.asp Accessed 12 May 2021.
Note that Wikipedia is not considered as a reliable source in an academic context.
Wikipedia is continuously updated and therefore the date of the latest update will have to be added in the reference list. The date of the latest update can be found under the button "History" in Wikipedia.
Template: ("Entry word", 2023)
Example: ("Chatbot", 2019)
Template: Entry title (date). In Wikipedia. URL
Example: Chatbot (22.03.2023). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chatbot
Conference publications are papers or posters presented at a conference, symposium, meeting or a congress and then published in the conference proceedings. Conference proceedings often contain presentations of new research results.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: According to a study... (Gunawan & Sari, 2021), the corona pandemic has...
Template: Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of conference presentation. In X. Editor's surname (ED.), Title of the conference proceedings (p. xx-xx). Publisher. DOI/URL
Example: Gunawan, G.H. & Sari, W. P. (2021). Marketing Communications During the 2020 Pandemic: Case Study of The Star Fit Grand Paragon. In Proceedings of the International Conference on Economics, Business, Social, and Humanities (ICEBSH 2021) (p. 685 - 690). https://doi.org/10.2991/assehr.k.210805.108
A report from an agency, institution or organisation (e.g., a business firm) usually has a group author, and this should be taken into account when citing. The author of an annual report is most of the time the company. If the report is part of a series, add information about the series: name and number.
Template: (Organisation, year)
Example: H&M Group (2020) has developed....
Example: Since 2013 the KWH Group has strengthened... (KWH Group, 2023)
Example: Finland's GDP is projected... (Ministry of Finance, 2022)...
Template: Organisation. (Year).Title. (Titlke of seriers Serial number) Publisher. URL
Example: Ministry of Finance (2022). Economic survey, winter 2022: Economic prospects. Publications of the Ministry of Finance 2022:81. http://urn.fi/URN:ISBN:978-952-367-221-5
Example: H&M Group (2020). Sustainability performance report 2020. H&M Group. https://hmgroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/HM-Group-Sustainability-Performance-Report-2020.pdf
Example: KWH Group (2013). KWH annual review 2013. KWH Group. http://www.kwhgroup.com/English/Annual_report
A journal article reference includes article author, year, and the article title. Also include the journal title and publication details. The journal title is written in italics. Journal volume, number, and pagination should be noted too.
How to cite articles with 3 or more authors, see different types of authors.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Ittonen et al., 2001)
Template: Author, Initial (Year). Article title. Journal title. Volume(issue), start and end page. https://doi.org/...
Example: Ittonen, K., Vähämaa, E. & Vähämaa, S. (2013). Female auditors and accruals quality. Accounting Horizons, 27(2), 205-228. https://doi.org/ 10.2308/acch-50400
If the article lacks a DOI number and it is published online, substitute the DOI with the URL.
Template: (author, year)
Example: (Predelius & Amine, 2022)
Template: Author, Initial (Year). Article title. Journal title. Volume(issue), start and end page. URL
Example: Predelus, W. & Amine, S. (2022). The insolvency choice during an economic crisis: the case of Canada. Quantitative Finance and Economics, 6(4), 658-668. https://doaj.org/article/f9e93ac1d2d84e948ff72dc0663d25ea
To cite a magazine or newspaper article, follows the same rules as for journal articles. If the article is signed, the author is the main entry, followed by year, article title, newspaper title, and publication date. If the article has no author, the main entry is the article title and date of publication. If the article is available on the newspaper or journal web page, add URL. For citing online news sites, see Webpages. If you have read the article via a press archive where the newspaper is equivalent to the printed version, cite the article as if it would be printed (e.g. Pressreader or Epress).
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Forbes, 2021)
Example: According to Forbes (2021)...
Example: Due to the Corona pandemic employees… … (Employers are the 2021)
Template: Author, Initial (Date). Article title. Newspaper title. DOI/URL
Example: Forbes, S. (20.04. 2021). End the lockdowns now. Forbes.
Example: Employers are the new Covid cops (31 May 2021) Bloomberg Businessweek.
If you use figures or tables originating from another publication, always cite the source. Note that visual works such as images are cited as figures.
The in-text reference should include author, year, and page number. Place the citation both in the text and under the figure/table. In the reference list, you cite the image according to what type of source the image/figure or table is taken from (e.g., book, article or website).
Illustrations are protected by copyright law and might require permission from the copyright holder. Images that can be freely downloaded, altered and be used in any context without citing the author can be found at, e.g., Pixabay and Unsplash. Using clip art from Microsoft Word or PowerPoint does not require a citation.
More information
Template: (Author/Orgnisation/usernamne, year)
Example: (Batat, 2019)
Example: Batat shows that... (2019)
Template: From/Adapted from Initial. Authr./Username. (year). Title [Type of media/Description]. Source. URL. License
Example: Adapted from Cash and voucher assistance in humanitarian contexts. (2023). R. Harping. [Figure]. http://hanken.fi. CC BY SA 3
In the reference list, you cite according to type of source used (book, article, web page etc.). The citation is written without the license and preposition.
Example HelpinghandVK. (2016). Introduction to business studies. Vikiversity. https://en.vikiversity.org/wiki/Introduction_to_Business_Studies
How you cite an interview depends on whether you cite an interview made by someone else or an interview you have done yourself, which hasn't been published.
If your research material consists of interviews, the sources can be anonymized, but should still be cited in such a way that the reader can distinguish them from one another. Note that interviews that are part of your empirical material are not oral sources. They can be presented, e.g., in an appendix.
See also personal communication.
The director is seen as the author of a film. If the director is unknown, use a person in similar role as the author. Also add which type of material in brackets (film, DVD etc.).
Example: In the film The wolf of Wall Street (Scorsese, 2013) the main character …
Example: Academic writing is… (Urban, 2016).
Template: Surname, Initial. (Director). (Year). Title [Film/DVD/TV show]. Production Company. URL
Example: Scorsese, M. (Director). (2013). The wolf of Wall Street [film]. Red Granite Pictures.
Example: Urban, T. (Speaker). (2016). Inside the mind of a master procrastinator [film]. TED. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arj7oStGLkU
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Lewington, 2021)
Template: Author, Initial (Writer), & Surname, Initial (Director). (Date). Title of episode (Season number, Episode number) [TV series episode]. In X. X. Surname (Executive producer), Title of TV series. Production Company. URL
Example: Lewington, L. (Editor). (18.05.2021). How tech could change how we shop in the future [TV-series episode]. In BBC World News. BBC. https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p09hlvn0
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Haga & Sundvik, 2020-present)
Example: The after-class talks with Jesper and Dennis (2020-present)...
Example: Haga, J. & Sundvik, D. (2020-present). After-class med Jesper och Dennis [Audio podcast]. Hanken podcast. https://www.hanken.fi/sv/om-hanken/aktuellt/bloggar-poddar/after-class-med-jesper-dennis
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Zhuravleva, 2022)
Example: Zhuravleva explains that... (2022)...
Template: Surname, Initial. (Host). (Date). Title (Episode no.) [Audio podcast episode]. In title. Production Company. URL
Example: Zhuravleva, A. (Host).(October 24, 2022). Algorithmic bias - the dark side of social media (Episode no. 34). In Sustainability unwrapped. Hanken scjhool of Economics. https://bit.ly/3SzPGwW
It's not necessary to note whether you have listened to an audiobook or read a printed book. The references look the same. However, if you quote an audio book, you need to provide a time stamp for the beginning of the quote.
When citing online material, make sure you know what type of source you are citing. Is it a web page, a PDF-publication or a blog? If the web page can be compared to a printed publication (e.g., book, article, theses, annual report), the citation should be according to the type of the source.
A reference to a web page should include the same information as to a printed document. The author can be a person or an organization. If an author cannot be found, the web page title is given in the same manner as with articles and books with no author. The web page title is italicized. The year given is either the year given as the web pages date of publication or the latest update. If no year can be found, add n.d. (= no date). Add URL. Date of access is given only when citing a source that is designed to be updated frequently.
Template: (Organisation/Webpage title, year)
Example: Plagiarism can be… (Linnaeus University, 2015)
Example: (Baltic Yachts, n.d.)
Template: Author/organization. (year). Web page title. URL.
Example: Linnaeus University. (2015). Refero: an anti-plagiarism tutorial. https://refero.lnu.se/english/
Example: Baltic yachts. (n.d.). Sailing sustainably through the 21st century. https://www.balticyachts.fi/greener/
Example: Race, M. (04 April, 2023). Virgin orbit: Richard Branson's rocket firm files for bankruptcy. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/news/business-65172594
Citing social media posts follows the same principles as when citing other web documents.
If the post has an author, the author is the main entry. An organization or a company is the author if a person is missing. If there is no author, the posts title is the main entry. Add the type of media in square brackets to clarify.
Certain types of information in social media can be categorized as personal communication, e.g., posts in closed Facebook-groups. In this case, you need the person's permission to cite this information.
If social media is the subject of your study, these sources can be listed in a separate list presenting your research data. In that list, the information enabling the reader to access the source (such as title, URL, and date of access) should be included.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: Idun’s Apple’s business model … (Idun’s Apple, 2010).
Example: According to Godin … (2021).
Template: Author, Initial. (Date). Title [Status update]. Site name. URL
Template: Name of group (Date). Post title. [type of media]. Site name. URL.
Example: Idun’s Apple (19.3.2010). Idun’s Apple now delivers to all of EU. [Status update. Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Iduns-Apple/197497928293?ref=ts
Example: Flying solo Micro business community (12.05.2021). Why does every website look the same? [Discussion forum] https://www.flyingsolo.com.au/forums/topic/why-does-every-website-look-the-same/
A blog post can be compared to a signed newspaper article, where the blogger's name is the author, the blog post's headline is the title, and the name of the blog compares to the newspapers name in italics.
Template: (blogger, date)
Example: (Godin, 10.05.2023)
Template: Surname, Initial (Date). Title [Blog post]. Blog name. URL
Example: Godin, S. (10.05.2021). Why the blockchain matters. [blog]. Seth's blog. ttps://seths.blog/2021/05/why-the-blockchain-matters/
Template: (Author, Date)
Example: (Economist impact, 24.04.2023)
Example: (Gates, 30.04.2023)
Template: Author, Initial/Organisation [@username]. (Date). Title [Tweet]. Site name. URL
Example: Economist impact [@economistimpact]. (24.04.2023). #Ad Learn how #ChromeOS and Google Cloud are using cloud technologies to help companies achieve their net-zero goals [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/economistimpact/status/16504847439250
Example: Gates, Bill [@Billgates]. (30.04.2023). As we rely more and more on electricity, it's vital to find innovative ways to generate clean power. [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/BillGates/status/1652432645790498816
Add your retrieval date and state the year to be unknown (n.d.), because the content can change over time.
Template: (author, n.d.)
Example: (Economist impact, n.d.)
Example: (Gates, n.d.)
Template: Author, Initial/Organisation. [@username]. (n.d.).Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved date.month.year, from URL
Example: Economist Impact. [@economistimpact]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved 03.05.2023, from https://twitter.com/economistimpact
Example: Gates, B. [@Billgates]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved 03.05.2023, from https://twitter.com/BillGates/status/1652432645790498816
If the link to an online document is too long, you can use a URL or DOI shortener. Always check if the shortened URL or DOI takes you to the correct place before you use them in the reference list. There are several online services for shortened URL:s. For a shortened DOI, use http://shortdoi.org/.
As a rule a text generated by av AI tool is not considered a source. This type of text is neither reliable or possible to recreate. According to APA recommendations you cite the text as a product of an algoritm. Thus you cite the AI tool and it’s developer.
Hanken has rules for how to use AI-tools in your studies. Always describe in your text in what way you have used it. Information on how to cite generative AI images is found here
Hanken: Artificial intelligence in your studies and learning
Uppsala University: Citing generative AI
APA Style: How to cite ChatGPT
Template (Developer/publisher, Year)
Example (OpenAI, 2023)
Exempel By using OpenAI (2023)…
Template Developer. (Year). Title of AI-model (Version) [Type of model]. URL
Example OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Version GPT-3-5) [Large language modell]. https://chat.openai.com/chat
The APA system does not have any specific rules for citing legislation. Use recommendations for the country's legislation that you are citing.
Use the law’s official name in the language you are writing in, and its number in the constitutional collection. In the in-text citation, the law title is written with lower case. For the first time you cite the law, use the complete official name. For the following times, use the standardized abbreviations if one exists. If the law or convention has a long name, shorten it for the in-text citation, e.g., by using the 3-5 first words of the title. If you are citing a specific paragraph in the law, add the paragraph number.
Not that not all Finnish laws have official names and have abbreviations in English. A list of official abbreviations in Swedish and Finnish can be found in the Edilex database.
Template: (Law title, number/Year)
Example: ...trade marks will be... (Trade marks act 544/2019)
Example: … according to the trade marks act (544/2019 § 2)
Example: The convention between Finland and United Kingdom on double taxation (SopS 1-2/1970)...
Template: Law title (number/year). URL
Example: Trade marks act (544/2019). https://www.finlex.fi/en/laki/kaannokset/2019/en20190544.pdf
Example: Convention between the government of the republic of Finland and the government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and capital (SopS 1-2/1970). https://www.finlex.fi/en/sopimukset/verosopimusteksti/1970/19700002 A
Example: Act on Transfers of Real Estate Requiring Special Permission (470/2019)
Software and apps mentioned in the text, but not quoted or paraphrased does not need a formal citation. However, if you have cited or paraphrased from software or apps, include in-text citations and an entry in the reference list.
Template: Developer (Year). Name of software (Version) [Computer software]. Company. URL
Example: Showpad (2014). Showpad (Version 3.4.5) [Mobile application]. http://www.showpad.com/
Example: Kony (2014). Kony Mobile HR [Mobile application]. http://www.kony.com/products/apps/hr
Template: (Developer/Company, year)
Example: The mobile application Kony HR increased the company’s… (Kony 2014).
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Finnish Standards Association, 2015).
Example: (British Standards, 2008)
Template: Author. (Year). Standard title (standard number). Publisher. Publisher URL
Example: Finnish Standards Association SFS (2015). Quality management systems: requirements (SFS-EN ISO 9001). Finnish Standards Association. https://sfs.fi/en/
Example: British Standards Institution (2008). 2008 Quality management systems: requirements (BS EN ISO 9001). British Standards Institution. https://www.bsigroup.com/
If a source can't be retrieved by the reader, it is cited as personal communication. Personal communication (oral sources) includes emails, text messages, online chats, interviews, telephone conversations, live speeches, unrecorded classroom lectures, letters and so on. If you are citing an oral source, make sure you have the permission from the person in question to cite the source.
Oral sources should not be included in the reference list, as personal communication can’t be accessed by the reader.
Template: (Initial, name, personal communication, date)
Example: (D. Anderson, personal communication, 21 March 2023)
Example: According to David Anderson (personal communication, 21 March 2023)
Personal communication should not be included in the reference list.
If your source has not yet been formally published, e.g., if it is found in an pre-print archive or repository, the date given in the citations should be the year when the source was completed or when the draft was written. Add the name of the archive or database to the entry in the reference list. Articles in press are documents that have been accepted for publication but not yet assigned to a publication volume and/or issue. Preprint is a version of an academic text that precedes the peer-review process.
Template: (Author, in press)
Template: (author, year)
Example: (Rosário & Carmo Dias, 2022)
Template: Author, Initial. (in press). Title. Publisher.
Template: Author, Initial. (year). Title. Archive/repostory. DOI
Example: Rosário, A. T. & Carmo Dias, J. (2022). Fuzzy logic: an application into marketing strategy. Preprints.org. https://doi.org/10.20944/preprints202206.0378.v1
How you cite documents on an inaccessible or closed website, such as in an organization's Intranet or a course learning environment, depends on whether your audience can access it or not.
Presentations and other material from recorded lectures published in learning platforms such as Moodle are a considered as unpublished material. In the citation, the information about the type of document (e.g., Powerpoint-presentation and Word-document) is placed after the title. If the material in the learning platform consists of articles or parts of books, cite the source according to the rules of that type of material. When citing a lecture you have attended, treat it as personal communication.
Template: (Author, year)
Example: (Holmlund, 2022)
Example: Holmlund shows that ... (2022)
Template: Author, Initial. (Date). Title [Type of source]. Name of learning environment/company intranet. URL login page
Example: Holmlund, S. (16.9.2022). How to use your references. [PowerPoint slides]. Moodle. https://https://moodle.hanken.fi/moodle/
If the reader does not have access to the source, use the recommendations for personal communication.
If you are quoting a source, or for other reasons (e.g., to help the reader) want to have a more specific in-text citation, add the page number(s) for textual sources and time stamps for audiovisual sources. Add quotation marks before and after the quote.
Example: (Anderson, 2022, p. 54)
Example: According to Anderson (2022, p. 54) "a business plan is...".
Some digital material lacks pagination. The reason can be that the material isn't published in PDF format. It could also be that the pagination you see is generated by the devise you are using to read the text, or the size of your screen. In these cases, there are other methods of citing a sprecific place in the text.
You can use chapter titles or paragraph numbers instead. Replace the page number(s) in your in-text citation with he chapter or subchapter title in your in-text citation. If the chapter title is too long, add only the beginning of the title to make your text more readable. You can also replace the page number(s) with the number of the paragraph you are citing to specify from where the information you are citing emanates. Count the paragraphs manually if they are not numbered. You can also combine both chapter title and paragraph number in your in-text citation, especially if the chapter is long or if this enables the reader to find your source more easily.
Example: (Kara, 2018, Choosing a research question).
Example: (Huovinen, 2020, para.7)
Example: (Kara, 2018, Choosing a research question, para. 3)
When directly quoting audiovisual works, add a time stamp for the beginning of the quote.
Template: (author, year, minute:second)
Example: (Entrepreneur, 2017, 1:46)
Subsitute the year with n.d. both in your in-text citation and in the reference list.
Some digital material lacks page numbers. This can be because the material is published in another format than PDF. In some cases, the pagination you see can be generated by the devise you are using or by the screen size. Don’t use this kind of page numbers in your in-text reference. In these cases, use the chapter title or the number of the paragraph you are citing in your in-text reference.
See No author.
Many online newspapers, blogs, etc., articles are published without a volume and issue, in these cases, omit these elements from the citation.