LibGuides: Information resources: Databases

Databases A-Z

The databases are available via the library's search portal Hanna.

Search individual databases, browse databases A-Z, or by subject category.

Databases by subject

AnnualReports.com This free service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Boasting the most complete and up-to-date listings of annual reports on the internet, AnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location. Annual Reports enable investors to stay up to date on a company's yearly outlook.
Bloomberg Availability: in Quantum. Quantum is available with your key during evenings and nights. You need a personal username for Bloomberg. Log on to the computer with your Hanken username, click the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and follow the instructions. Instructions are in the document "How to create Bloomberg login.pdf" which is on the desktop on all computers that have Bloomberg installed.
Bolagsfakta Bolagsfakta contains information about companies in the Nordic region. BolagsFakta förmedlar årsredovisningar, pressreleaser, presskontakter och börskurser. Vidare presenteras verksamhet, ledning och styrelse i noterade bolag. Du får hjälp med att finna leverantörer och samarbetspartners inom utvalda sektorer.
Capital IQ Availability: Capital IQ is available In Quantum and remotely. Compustat - Capital IQ is available also on the WRDS platform. Description: Quantitative research and financial analysis solutions.
CRSP (WRDS) CRSP is available on the WRDS platform. Description: US Stocks, Investmentsfundsdata, Fama US Treasury, REITS. For further details and information, please contact the Department of Finance and Statistics.
ETLA Statistics from the Research Institute of the Finnish Economy. No Username and Password required. Click Login now. Tietokanta sisältää yli 40 000 numeerista aikasarjaa Suomen ja muiden maiden talouden kehityksestä sekä talousennusteita. Tietokantaan on kerätty tietoa kymmenistä eri lähteistä, keskeisinä Tilastokeskus, Suomen Pankki ja Eurostat. Aikasarjat voi siirtää käyttäjän taulukkolaskentaohjelmaan.
FactSet Availability: FactSet is available in Quantum and remotely. Quantum is available with your key during evenings and nights. Description: A comprehensive platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets, and public and private companies. Subject: Bankruptcy, Companies, Fundamentals, Equities, IPO, Joint Ventures, Mergers & Acquisitions, Ownership, Private Equity, Venture Capital.
Infront The database is available in Quantum. Quantum is available with your key during evenings and nights. Login details can be found attached to the computers. Description: The Infront Professional terminal provides real-time global market data, news, analytics and electronic trading. Infront has data from over 80 exchanges, MTFs, and contributing brokers, which gives you an overview of the markets. You can combine equities, derivatives, fixed income, commodities, funds, FX and money market data in your own custom interface. Infront gives you access to real-time financial news, regulatory news, in-depth research and social media.
Kauppalehti Online Kauppalehti Online is the biggest business online-medium in Finland (TNS Metrix). The English version contains 15 minutes delayed share quotes from the Copenhagen, Helsinki and Stockholm Stock Exchanges, indices, stock exchange bulletins, press releases sorted by industry, mutual funds quotes as well as currency exchange rates and interest rates. Kauppalehti Online is openly available within the Hanken intranet in Helsinki and Vasa.
LSEG/Refinitiv Workspace (Eikon) Licensed resource. LSEG/Refinitiv Workspace includes both Eikon and Datastream. Language: English Description: Eikon and other financial databases have been combined into Refinitv Workspace which has been aquired by London Stock Exchange Group (LSEG) which has renamed the database to LSEG Workspace. The LSEG/Refinitiv Workspace will be used as to avoid confusion. The database is a LSEG provided software product to oversee and analyse financial information. Eikon has realtime-market data, news, basic information, analysis including tools for trade and messaging services.
Orbis Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and create your own analyze. •Company financials in a standardized format •Financial strength indicators •Directors and contacts •Original filings/images •Stock data for listed companies •Detailed corporate structures •Market research •Business and company-related news •M&A deals and rumours .Orbis is easy to use and helps you navigate company information quickly and easily.
Research Insight/Compustat Compustat is available on the WRDS platform. Description: Standard Compustat databases have been expanded to include data history starting in 1979. This will initially provide up to 37 years of annual and quarterly fundamental data as well as monthly and daily market data.
Statista Statista.com is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 22.500 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Talouselämä-lehden yritystietokanta Talouselämä's (magazine) database with company information. The 500(600) largest companies in Finland. Language: Finnish Log in with your Hanken password. Finnish description in saate(PDF).
WRDS Needs registration. Description: Through WRDS, Hanken gets its hands on new data such as Audit Analytics (North America and EU), Bank Regulatory Database, Blockholders, BoardEx (only for 2024), CBOE Indexes, DMEF, Dow Jones, Fama-French Portfolios and Factors, FDIC Database Files, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, IRI Marketing Factbook, Penn World Tables, Philadelphia Stock Exchange, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, TRACE and OTC Markets. In addition to that, data from CRSP (e.g. Stocks and U.S. Mutual Funds), and Compustat, Execucomp is now available through WRDS. Hanken School of Economics has access to the following S&P datasets via WRDS: • S&P Compustat Bank • S&P Compustat Executive Compensation • S&P Compustat Global • S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data) • S&P Compustat Historical Segments

Individual guidance

If you need help with using the databases you can contact dilara.abdieva(at)hanken.fi with your questions. When needed a Teams meeting can be arranged to give help in the use of databases that are accessible remotely.

The helpdesk (Dilara) is available in Quantum Helsinki:
Tuesdays and Thursdays 13:00-15:00

Any general questions about Quantum can be directed to quantum-help(at)hanken.fi.

FAR Online (Swedish)
FAR Online is a digital database for those working in finance, law, auditing, or accounting. The service provides updated legal texts, accounting rules, news, templates, as well as other relevant content, updated with the latest changes (Sweden). Legal texts and regulations are accompanied by links to current articles in Balans, Resultat, or SkatteNytt.

Chinalawinfo Contains Chinese legislation, case law, treaties and articles and table of contents of Chinese legal journals. Material is mainly in Chinese. English tab provides search posibility in English, result headlines are usually in English. Some fulltext material is also available in English. Database contains mainly subscribed material which can be used only from one designated computer in the Hanken Library in Helsinki.
Curia Court of Justice of the European Union
Edilex - lakitietopalvelu Licensed resource. Edilex covers current Finnish legislation, government bills, treaties, judicial practice, juridical articles and juridical news service. Edilex is mostly in Finnish but partly also in Swedish.
EUR-Lex - The portal to European Union law Eurlex is an entry point to the complete collections of EU legal texts in all the official languages. It provides direct access to the official document repositories managed by the institutions or by the Publications Office, as well as other institutional documentary sources, including CELEX. The documents are grouped under the following domains or sections: • Treaties • International agreements • Legislation in force • Preparatory acts • Case-law • Parliamentary questions
Fiducia och annan finsk juridik på svenska Licensierad resurs. Svenska onlineböcker inom ämnet juridik. Uppdateras kontinuerligt.
Finlex Finlex är en offentlig och gratis internettjänst för rättsligt material som ägs av justitieministeriet. Finlex innehåller statens författningsdata: lagstiftning, rättspraxis, myndigheters beslutsmaterial, statsfördrag, och regeringspropositioner. Alla texter är inte på svenska. Innehållet i Finlex produceras och upprätthålls av Edita Lakitieto Ab. Finlex is an online database of up-to-date legislative and other judicial information of Finland. Finlex is owned by Finland's Ministry of Justice. Most of the databases are only available in Finnish and Swedish. Some translations of Finnish acts and decrees are also available in English and other languages. Case-Law in legal literature database is also available in English.
Institute of International Commercial Law CISG Database, kräver inloggning men det är gratis att registrera sig. Stora mängder rättspraxis och litteratur om CISG.
Juridikbok.se Juridisk litteratur som givits ut i Sverige eller på det svenska språket.
Lagrummet - Svensk rättsinformation Lagrummet.se is a portal for Swedish public administration legal information. In lagrummet.se you will find legal information from: * The Government * Riksdagen (The Swedish Parliament) * Higher courts * Government agencies (approx. 90). You can also find a number of international sources of information.
Lakitutka Tjänsten Lakitutka sammanför olika slags offentliga dokument som skapats under lagstiftningsprocessen.
Päivittyvät teokset (Verkkokirjahylly) Licensierad resurs. Finska onlineböcker inom finländsk lagstiftning. Uppdateras kontinuerligt.
Riksdagsdokument
SuomenLaki.com The Finnish Law and 70 electronic law books in Finnish.
UNCITRAL FN:s kommission för internationell handelsrätt. Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT).
Unilex Öppen databas med stora mängder med rättsfall och litteraturhänvisningar om CISG Unidroit principle of international commercial contracts.

Africa Development Indicators (ADI) Africa Development Indicators (ADI) provides information about social, economic, financial and environmental issues in Africa.
ETLA Licensed resource. Statistics from the Research Institute of the Finnish Economy. No Username and Password required. Click Login now. Tietokanta sisältää yli 40 000 numeerista aikasarjaa Suomen ja muiden maiden talouden kehityksestä sekä talousennusteita. Tietokantaan on kerätty tietoa kymmenistä eri lähteistä, keskeisinä Tilastokeskus, Suomen Pankki ja Eurostat. Aikasarjat voi siirtää käyttäjän taulukkolaskentaohjelmaan.
Eurostat Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Finanssivalvonta From the web page of the Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority you can find publications, reports and statistics as well as Standards regulating the financial sector.
Findicator Up-to-date information on key social indicators. Each indicator provides information in the form of statistical pictures, tables and analyses. The service has been implemented as a joint project between Statistics Finland and the Prime Minister's Office in collaboration with a number of other information providers.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) World Bank analysis on economic conditions, indicators, publications and forecasts.
International Debt Statistics (IDS) International Debt Statistics (IDS), successor to Global Development Finance and World Debt Tables, is designed to respond to user demand for timely, comprehensive data on trends in external debt in low- and middle-income countries.
International Financial Statistics (IFS) Statistics of International Monetary Fund (IMF).
International Trade Statistics (Customs) International trade statistics provide information on the goods trade between Finland and the other EU member states and third countries. Customs compiles statistics on the value and transports of foreign trade and on border traffic.
OECD Data Licensed resource. OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010.
Statista Licensed resource. The Statistics Portal for Market Data, Market Research and Market Studies offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports and digital market outlooks.
Statistics Finland Statistics Finland combines collected data with its own expertise to produce statistics and information services. Founded in 1865, Statistics Finland is the only Finnish public authority specifically established for statistics. It produces the vast majority of Finnish official statistics and is a significant international actor in the field of statistics.
ULJAS - Foreign Trade Statistics Foreign trade statistics from Finnish Customs.
UNdata UNdata is a data access system to UN databases. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
UNECE statistical database Country overviews, economic statistics, forestry statistics, transport statistics and gender statistics.
UNESCO Statistics Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
World Development Indicators (WDI) The WDI database includes statistics worldwide since 1960. The indicators focus on different economic, social and environmental aspects.

Citation databases

Citation databases are used when evaluating publication activities. With their help, you can count the number of citations and check, for example, which articles and journals are cited the most. Read more about citation databases here.

Google Scholar Citations Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name
Journal Citation Reports Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
Scopus (+Scopus AI) Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus is owned and produced by Elsevier.
Web of Science Web of Science is owned and produced by Thomson Reuters. WoS is composed of three databases containing citations from international scientific journals: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI). WoS aims to include the best journals of all fields. Citation Coverage: Includes citations starting from the year 1945, but Hanken has access only to citations starting from 1986.