LibGuides: Library's guide for new employees: Find literature and information

Use Hanna to find literature

Hanken's search service Hanna gives you access to a wide range of materials through only one search. Through one and the same search box, you can reach:

printed materials (only materials available in Helsinki), and
electronic materials, such as e-books, theses, scholarly articles in full text, and databases.

Hanna search service Hanna is the search tool for Hanken’s library. In Hanna you find all printed material in the Hanken library in Helsinki, and the majority of all electronic materials available for all Hanken students and staff.

Watch the video below to get started using Hanna. The tutorial (1:33) is made at the Hanken library.

Note that staff and students in Vaasa use the Vaasa city library's search service to search for printed books in the library.

E-books

At Hanken library, you have access to more than 1 million e-books via various e-book platforms including Perlego and Ebook central.

Note that not all e-books are available through the Hanna search service. Some books are only found directly from the e-book platform's user interface.

Visit the library's LibGuide on E-books for more information on:

the different platforms you have access to,
instructions on how to find e-books,
instructions on how to download e-books, and
acquisition and use of e-books in teaching (important for teachers to know about).

Ebooks at Hanken

Scientific article databases at Hanken

Hanken library offers access to the following licensed scientific article databases. You can access them remotely, 24/7, with your Hanken-ID. Follow the links below, or search for the databases through Hanna:

BrowZine Academic journals in a browsable format. Includes open access journals and journals selected from the Hanken Library’s subscriptions. You can also access BrowZine from your smartphone or tablet, download the free BrowZine app from the appropriate app store.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Business Source Complete (BSC) is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Full-text availability may vary due to exceptions related with embargo periods of newest material.
EconLit (EBSCO) EconLit provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. The database also includes links to full-text of some 40,000 working papers in economics.
Emerald Journals Emerald gives access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, with full text archives back to 1994. It contains 217 journals from 22 management disciplines. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
SAGE Journals Online Note! 1999-. SAGE Journals Online provides access to 550+ SAGE journal titles in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine with backfile to 1999.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Note! 1995-. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online reference works, handbooks and book series ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles.
Springer Link Note! 1997-. SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics.
Wiley Online Library Note! 1998-. More than 1000 online publications for researchers and professionals. Subject areas include medicine, health sciences, business, humanities and social sciences, information science and computing. Former Blackwell Synergy database has merged to Wiley Online Library.

Electronic newspapers

ePress Contains domestic daily and local newspapers. The service only works within Hanken's network (or VPN).
Financial Times - London Edition As a registered FT.com user, you can log in directly to FT.com via the Sign In link at the top right of the website. At FT.com, you can also download an application. After registration, your usual Hanken user ID and password will work. Log into FT.com, fill in your Hanken e-mail address, and then follow the instructions.
more...less...
According to the agreement with FT.com, it is not allowed to:
"...forward full text FT articles by email or by any other distribution method..." and "...copy, cut and paste, email, reproduce, publish, distribute, redistribute, broadcast, transmit, modify, adapt, edit, abstract, create, derivative works of store, archive, publicly display, sell or in any way commercially exploit any Content..."
Kauppalehti To read Kauppalehti online outside Hanken's network, you need to log in with your Hanken user ID.
PressReader Contains more than 7400 newspapers and magazines from 120 countries. The newspaper issue will be available on the same day when it is published and can be read for 60-90 days. In order for you to be able to read the electronic newspapers outside Hanken's network, you need to log in with your Hanken user ID.

Quantum

Quantum and databases of company and financial data

Google Scholar

A free web search engine for scientific publications.

Activate Library links on Google Scholar (open PDF)
You have to activate Library links in Google Scholar in order to reach the full text versions of articles in licensed databases, when out of Hanken's network.

Library training, search help and guidance

The library offers lectures/workshops in information retrieval and tools that are useful when using information. These workshops are available to everyone at Hanken. Registration ends the previous day

You can also book individual tutoring via the library's booking calendar.

Library workshops 2024	Time	Place	Registration
No scheduled workshops atm, please use the booking calendar

Search help and library training
Informationsspecialist (Vasa)
Information Specialist (Vaasa)
Susanne Holmlund
Informationsspecialist (Helsingfors)
Information Specialist (Helsinki)
Sarah Hagström

Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access

The electronic resources are available in the network of Hanken School of Economics or through remote access. Remote access requires the Hanken user ID and password.

Download Libkey Nomad browser extension at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ for alternative off-campus access to licensed e-resources.

Licence agreements

Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licences of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.