Library's guide for new employees

The library provides services and support for researchers at each of your research stage to facilitate your research managing and sharing. 

At the stage of literature review:

• The library ensures that you have the necessary resources at hand for your research as well as for your teaching. Resources include both printed and e-resources such as books, e-books, journals, newspapers, and databases. See Find resources on the Library's page, or the sections on Borrow books in Helsinki, Borrow books in Vaasa and Find literature and information in this LibGuide.
• When you are doing literature review, bibliometrics are an important tool to help you select your readings. In the LibGuide on Bibliometrics, you can find detailed information on:
  • citation-based metrics (article-level indicators, journal-level indicators, author-level indicators, and institution-level indicators),
  • Altmetrics (or alternative metrics) focusing on the societal impact of research as a complement to traditional, citation-based metrics, 
  • responsible metrics, and
  • how to improve the visibility and impact of your research.

At the stage of active research:

• There are many factors that you need to consider when assessing the quality of a journal to which you will submit your manuscript. Check these factors that you need to bear in mind in Journal assessment in the LibGuide on Bibliometrics. 

• Bibliometrics are also helpful at this stage, for example, in selecting a journal/publisher to publish your article/monograph.

Bibliometrics, however, can be very narrow and limited measures and should not be used in isolation and exclusively. See Responsible metrics in the LibGuide on Bibliometrics and Responsible research assessment in the LibGuide on Open science.

• The library's services and support that help you complete various different data management tasks including how to handle personal data in research and publishing your (meta)data are introduced in the section below on Support for research data management (RDM) and open/FAIR data.

To share your research:

• From the library's page Publish, you can find information about how to publish:
  • in Hanken's publication series,
  • a doctoral thesis, and 
  • open access (see the section below on Support for open access publishing).
• It is important to formulate your own communication strategy and employ different ways to increase the visibility and impact of your research, for example, 
  • registering your publications and research data in Haris (See the section below on Register your research merits in Haris),
  • publishing open access to your publications and research data,
  • using social media to share your research,
  • creating your researcher IDs (such as ORCID) and researcher profiles in different citation databases,
  • using Altmetrics to measure the effectiveness of communicating through social media platforms, and
  • being involved in citizen science.

More information, see Impact: beyond bibliometrics and Improve the visibility and impact of your research in the LibGuide on Bibliometrics.

Sharing your research both with the research community and the general public in the wider social circle is done by incorporating open science principles and practices into your research process (see the section below on Open science and research at Hanken).

Hanken encourages researchers to publish open access to your publications, research data and methods, actively inform the academic community about your research outputs, make the general public aware of them, and take part in societal discussion, in order to facilitate innovation and cooperation both within the academic community and between research and industry. Hanken’s Marketing and communication services help researchers in issues related to research communication.

Hanken researchers are entitled to different open access opportunities and support, for example:

• Using the Discounts on APCs

Hanken researchers can publish their articles as (hybrid) open access to a discounted fee, provided that the Hanken affiliated researcher acts as the corresponding author and that Hanken affiliation is officially stated in the publication.

The discount is based on the transformative agreements between the FinElib consortium and publishers. Always start by checking if your target journal is included in one of the current agreements. The process of obtaining a discount on APC is different with each publisher. It is extremely important to fill in the publication forms correctly, since publishers will not make any APC refunds retrospectively.

• Applying for Hanken’s central fund for open access publication fees

Hanken has set up a central fund since 2020 to cover an article processing charge (APC) in a gold or hybrid open access journal and book processing charge (BPC) for a monograph. Check the criteria of open access publication fund allocation. 

• Self-archiving a legitimate copy of your publication into Haris 

Alternatively, Hanken researchers choose green open access, that is, uploading a legitimate copy of your publication in Haris and preserving it in Hanken’s institutional repository DHanken. Note that there may be an embargo period that hinders immediate open access to the self-archived copy. A possible embargo period is checked and set by the library when validating the records in Haris. See How to self-archive at Hanken in the LibGuide on Open access.

Open access (OA) means that research publications are made freely accessible on the internet in digital form, which promotes the dissemination of research results both within the scientific community and to the public at large. Readers can read, use, copy, print, and link to the OA publications, all free of charge. There are three main types of open access publishing:

• Gold open access: An article is published and made freely accessible in a digital form on the publisher’s website immediately upon publication in a journal that does not receive subscription fees from the readers, which means that all articles in the journal are freely available immediately upon publication. Often a publishing fee (article processing charge, APC) is charged to cover the administrative costs of the journal. Gold open access publishing may also be free of charge.

• Hybrid open access: The article is published and made openly available immediately upon publication after the payment of an article processing charge (APC), in a subscription-based journal where some articles are published freely available and other contents are available after the payment of a subscription fee.

• Green open access (also called self-archiving or parallel publishing): A version of the article is self-archived in a repository, usually an institutional repository or a subject-based repository, before, after or alongside the publication of the article. Green open access publishing is free of charge, but access to this article is often delayed by an embargo period.

More information, see Open access to scholarly publications in the LibGuide on Open science, or the LibGuide on Open access. Questions concerning open access publishing can be addressed to openresearch@hanken.fi or haris@hanken.fi.

Research data management (RDM) means organization, description, storage, preservation, and sharing of data collected and used in a research project. Researchers can use the research data management flowchart or follow the 6 stages outlined in Data management process at Hanken in the LibGuide on Research data management (RDM) to complete the data management process that covers the whole research data life cycle. 

Note that there are two different data management processes with different instructions for BSc/MSc/eMBA students and for researchers and PhD students, respectively.  

Data management skills are understood as essential research competency. Appropriate data management and carefully organized and described research datasets that are published for data retrieval and reuse are recognised as part of a researcher’s academic merits.

All research shall adhere to good data protection practices. If you collect and process personal data for your research, follow the procedures specified in the Guidelines and procedures of personal data processing in studies and research at Hanken to maintain high ethical standards and observe relevant legislation.

To publish open and FAIR data, it is important to do the following: 

• Write and update a Data management plan (DMP) when necessary. A DMP describes how and what research data will be handled during and after the research project and elaborates the key measures for ethical and legal compliance and FAIR data production. 
  • You can use Hanken's DMP template or other Public DMP templates (with Hanken's DMP guidance integrated) in DMPTuuli to write and update a DMP. See DMPTuuli with Hanken's DMP guidance and DMP template in the LibGuide on Research data management (RDM).
• Organize data with sensible naming convention, well-organised folder structures, clear version control, and standard, interchangeable and non-proprietary data formats to ensure data reusability. See Data formats and organizing.
• Describe and publish the metadata of your data. It is recommended to use Fairdata Qvain metadata tool offered by the Ministry of Education and Culture and maintained by CSC. The metadata of the data holding personal information or confidential data can be published, although the actual data cannot be. See Metadata and data documentation. 
• Archive and publish research data in national or international repositories when possible. See data sharing and preservation.
  • Define an appropriate access type (open, embargoed or restricted) to research data based on the feature of the data, your research process, need for the protection of trade secrets and other confidential data, and intellectual property agreements, as well as funders’ and publishers’ requirements.
  • Use a license when opening your data for reuse to define the reuse terms and possible restrictions. It is recommended to use Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license. See Legal compliance. 
  • Data with personal information can only be opened anonymized. See Anonymisation and Personal Data by the Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD).
• Register your datasets in Haris and add the persistent identifiers (e.g., DOI and URN) for your (meta)data.

More information on RDM is available in Hanken's LibGuide on Research data management (RDM) including:

• how to write and update a data management plan (DMP),
• how to handle personal data in studies and research, 
• ethical review,
• legal compliance, 
• data collection,
• data organizing, 
• data storage, backup and transferral,
• data publishing and preservation (metadata and FAIR data production), and
• data reusing.

For help and support for data management plans (DMPs), data storage, metadata creation, and data sharing and preservation, please contact openresearch@hanken.fi.

For questions concerning data protection, please contact Hanken's Data Protection Officer (dpo@hanken.fi). 

For questions concerning ethical guidelines and ethical review, please contact Hanken's Research Integrity Advisor: Anu Helkkula (anu.helkkula@hanken.fi). See Ethical principles and Ethical review in the LibGuide on RDM. 

Doctoral students can get hands-on support and training in RDM and open science principles and practices from the online 69990 Research Data Management (RDM) and Open Science Doctoral Course in Moodle (Period II, 30.10 - 15.12.2023). More courses and trainings on RDM, see Courses and workshops.

Haris is Hanken's research database that collects Hanken's research outputs and intellectual resources. All researchers who are employed by, or otherwise associated with, Hanken, shall submit their research merits in Haris.

As a new employee at Hanken, this is where to start:
 

• Add your publications published the five previous years

Add your publications published during the five previous years (current year included) to Haris, even if they are not affiliated to Hanken. This is required for reporting to the accreditations.
NB! If you have co-authored publications with Hanken-affiliated researchers, the publications are probably already submitted to Haris and you should not add duplicate records. This can easily be checked in the editor when logged in or by searching in the Haris portal.

If you have previously been affiliated with a university using the Pure software, your research outputs can be imported. There are also other options for importing data. Please contact haris@hanken.fi for help with adding previous publications.

Each researcher is responsible for submitting his/her own research merits. In some cases the submissions can be done by the assistant or helpdesk at your department. Check what practice applies at your department.

The library validates the publications submitted in Haris, but is not responsible for the submission itself. Research projects are examined by the Office of Research, International Affairs and Corporate Connections, while the accuracy of activities is not checked.

The following content types are available in Haris: research outputs, activities, projects, press/media, prizes and awards and datasets.
 

• Edit your profile

It is highly recommended that you edit and enrich your personal profile. The profile is shown in the Haris public portal. You can, for example, describe your research interests, add keywords describing your research, activate links to your social media profiles (e.g., X, ResearchGate, LinkedIn, Google Scholar profile), upload a photo and more. Read more about Edit profile and Haris public portal.
 

• Add and connect your ORCID ID

Please add your ORCID ID and authorise the export of content (e.g. research output) from Haris to your ORCID account. This will diminish the amount of manual work in different systems. Learn more about ORCID.

For more detailed information, see the LibGuide on Haris.
Please address any questions related to Haris and submissions to haris@hanken.fi.

The name Haris is an abbreviation of Hanken Research Information System.

The concept of open science has different definitions and includes multiple aspects and opportunities for you to consider what open science could mean throughout the research cycle. In general, open science refers to the efforts and mechanisms by which the findability, accessibility and (re)usability of scientific knowledge are promoted in the digital era.

Open science encompasses:

• open research outputs, including 
  • open access to research publications,
  • open access to research data and methods,
  • open scholarship culture, and
  • open source code.
• In addition to open research, open science as an umbrella term encompasses other aspects of science such as open education.

Hanken has been actively promoting open science and following the national and international principles and requirements of openness in science and research. Active promotion of open science is included as one of the key elements in Hanken 2030 Long-term Strategy.

In August 2019, Hanken signed the Declaration for Open Science and Research (Finland) 2020-2025 and is committed to following the strategic principles, objectives, and action plans outlined in the four Policies of Open Science and Research in Finland to achieve the goals set out in the Declaration.

To continue to promote openness as a fundamental value of science:

• Hanken encourages that all the new annually reported peer-reviewed scientific articles are published immediately openly accessible. Self-archived copies of the articles are uploaded to Hanken’s research database Haris and preserved in Hanken’s institutional repository DHanken. 
• Hanken endeavours to ensure that the properly documented metadata of the research data are published for the findability and citability of the research data. Research data are to be archived and opened in national or international repositories when possible. Datasets are registered in Haris with the persistent identifiers (e.g., DOI or URN) for the (meta)data.
• Hanken encourages the school’s researchers to make their analysis and research methods generally available.
• Hanken follows national and international development in transparent and responsible assessment of research outputs and research impact.

For a more detailed description of Hanken's guidelines on open science and research, see the Guidelines for Open Science and Research at Hanken (2021):

•  Open PDF: Guidelines for Open Science and Research at Hanken (2021)

More information about open science benefits, principles, development, and practices at Hanken, see the LibGuide on Open science. 

Doctoral students can get hands-on support and training in open science principles and practices including how to share your research and how to publish open access to publications, research data and teaching materials, as well as in research data management (RDM) know-how, from the online 69990 Research Data Management (RDM) and Open Science Doctoral Course in Moodle (Period II, 30.10 - 15.12.2023).

Questions concerning open science can be addressed to openresearch@hanken.fi.