Skip to main content

Open access (Eng): Green OA (Self-archiving)

Self-archiving

Self-archiving, also called green open access, means that a version of the article is deposited in an open repository, often in the institutional repository of a university (e.g. Dhanken) or in a subject repository (e.g. SSRN and ArXiv).

Making your research openly available on the web will facilitate broad readership and will likely lead to more citations of your articles. Furthermore, archiving your research with Hanken will also guarantee its future availability and prominent visibility in Google Scholar and other parts of the web.

Learn more about how to self-archive at Hanken.



In SHERPA/RoMEO you can check scientific journals' and publishers' copyright policies and approach to self-archiving. The service is maintained by Nottingham University.  Publishers' and magazines' position on parallel publishing are shown with colour codes.

ROMEO colour - Archiving policy

green - can archive pre-print and post-print or publisher's version/PDF
blue - can archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's version/PDF
yellow - can archive pre-print (ie pre-refereeing)
white  - archiving not formally supported

The majority of publisher's (ca 80 %) approve of self-archiving of articles in universities institutional repository.

How Can I Share It Find relevant information and practical tools to ensure your articles can be shared with your colleagues quickly and easily.

Permissions for self-archiving

Publisher / Journal
It is recommended to check the publishers guidelines for Open Access even before submitting an article. Information is available on the publisher's web pages or in Sherpa/Romeo. Does the publisher allow self-archiving in an institutional repository? Also familiarize yourself with wat is stated on authors's right, by looking for headings like "Author instructions" or "Aurthor's rights".
Should there be no information available on the publisher's web page, there is a reason to contact the publisher and refer to institutional recommendations on self-archiving or funders requirements on Open access publlishing (e.g. The Academy of Finland allows embargos for maximum 12 months). See letter template below.

The publishing contract
In the publishing contract, you can sign over simple publishing rights, i.e., retain the right to use the text elsewhere. If the researcher concludes a publishing contract which assigns to the publisher all rights to the article, the publisher may prohibit self-archiving.
The SPARC Author Addendum is a legal instrument that modifies the publisher’s agreement and allows you to keep key rights to your articles. Also see addenda frequently asked questions.
 
Co-authored publications
Researchers should  inform their co-authors about the institutional recommendations for self-archiving at Hanken, and request their permission to self-archive their work already during the writing process. If an article has been published, the permission to self-archive should be obtained from the co-authors afterwards. See letter template below.

Third party
Articles may also contain copyrighted material belonging to a third party, e.g. illustrations or tables. If the permission to use these materials applies only to printed editions, separate permission is required to use them for self-archiving purposes.


Guidelines for open research at Hanken:
By  uploading  a  parallel  copy  of  the  article,  the  author  signals  that  the  question  of  copyright has been investigated with co-authors and the holders of copyright of images, tables etc. and that the publisher permits Green Open Access.

Embargo

Some publishers define an embargo, calculated from the publishing date of the original publication, during which it is not allowed to publish a self-archived open access copy of the publication in question. The embargo period can vary from 6-24 months, sometimes even up to 36-48 months. Information on publishers and journals embargos is found in SHERPARoMEO.
Not all publishers apply an embargo for self-archiving.

Article Processing Charge (APC)

Many gold open access journals take an Article Processing Charge (APC) of the author to finance the administrative costs of the journal. The APC fee may vary from some tens to thousands of euros. Some open access journals may also finance the costs in other way than by APC:s.

Always check information on APC:s on the journal's web page if you consider to publish in an OA journal. Also remember to take into account possible publishing fees already in the application for grants.

Publisher's plicies for green open access

Tools for open access

  • Cofactor Journal Selector  Find journals that match your requirements, e.g. open access.
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals Directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
  • How can I share it? Guide to help you get the most out of scholarly sharing. Find relevant information and practical tools to ensure your articles can be shared with your colleagues quickly and easily. Discover how sharing can be simple and seamless and enhance scholarly collaboration. Scholarly Collaboration Networks (SCNs).
  • OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories A global directory of Open Access repositories and their policies.
  • ROARMAP - The Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies OA-riktlinjer hos universitet och finansiärer
  • SHERPA/RoMEO Journal / publisher copyright policies & self-archiving.

Academic sociala networks

Research is widely disseminated in academic social networks, such as ResearchGate or Academia.edu. The publisher's copyright rules are valid also in this kind of web services, and can be checked, for example, in Sherpa/RoMEO. Scholarly publishers usually do not allow the final published version (Publisher's PDF) of an article to be uploaded in academic social networks. A full reference to a publication, including the DOI link leading to the published version, may of course be distributed also in academic social networks.

To publish an article in an academic social network does not comply with the funder's demand on open access. To publish a self-archived copy in a service like ResearchGate can not either be compared to publish a self-archived copy in an institutional repository, since
services like ResearchGate does not guarantee long time preservation and does not give a persistent link to the copy, as do self-archiving in an institutional repository. Red more about academic social networks:

Guidelines for Open Research at Hanken:
ResearchGate, Academica.edu and Mendeley are social media, not institutional repository that generate permanent web addresses and therefore the article must also be uploaded to Haris.