Skip to main content

Haris - Hanken research database: Haris portal

Guide to Haris - Hanken's research database

Haris public portal

Haris public portal highlights the research conducted at Hanken. In the new Haris portal, the research is presented in a new, more modern interface with enhanced functionality. New features in the new portal are visualization, fingerprints, and integrated altmetrics. There are also enhanced possibilities to customize the personal profile.

Research collaborations are visualized geographically. The visualization is visible at the Hanken level, the unit level, and the individual level.

The fingerprint function is based on text mining and is currently activated only at the individual researcher's level. Read more about fingerprint in the section below.

Altmetric and PlumX are altmetrics that have been integrated into the new portal. Altmetrics are alternative ways to measure the impact of a publication, complementary to traditional, citation-based metrics. Read more about altmetrics in the section below.

Through the portal, publications that are published open access are available.

The portal now functions as a cloud service and is reached at a new address https://harisportal.hanken.fi/en/.

The data displayed in the new portal still originates from Haris admin database and remains unchanged.

Customize how you appear on the portal

You can customize aspects of your profile on the Haris Portal. In this overview we show which aspects to edit in Haris admin to customize your public profile. For instructions, see the tab Edit profile.

1. The Personal overview

The Personal overview by default includes basic information such as name, title and organisational affiliation at Hanken.
To enrich what is shown in your portal profile you log in to Haris admin and Edit profile to add the following:

  • ORCID-ID
  • Curriculum and research description (including Curriculum, Research and teaching information, Research interests, Research areas, Education information)
  • Picture
  • CV
  • Links to your profiles in other services such as ResearchGate, LinkedIn, Mendeley, Twitter or Facebook. You can also add a link to your GoogleScholar profile or your personal web page.
  • Keywords to describe your field of research, either pre-defined according to the classification of the Ministry of Education, or combined with free text keywords.

 

2. Scopus metrics

Scopus metrics (citations and h-index) calculated from your research output in Scopus. Metrics per individual publication are shown next to the individual publication. A graph showing volume and time period of your research output is also shown by default in connection to the metrics.
You can hide Scopus metrics in your profile in Haris admin > Edit profile > Portal profile > Show metrics.
By default, all available metrics configured by the administrators at your institution are shown. If you hide metrics, they may still be shown on other pages, such as your co-authors' profiles.

Under the profile picture is by default a link to View Scopus Profile.


3. Fingerprint concepts

A fingerprint overview with the top fingerprint concepts is shown in your personal profile, and may look like this:


The Elsever Fingerprint Engine is a backend software system that extracts information from unstructured, English-language text and creates an index of weighted terms that characterize that text. The weighted terms are referred to as concepts — these are drawn from a handful of highly-curated, domain-specific thesauri/vocabularies.

Fingerprints are constructed by mining concepts from scientific documents and listing how closely the analyzed documents/texts are related to concepts. New concepts may not appear in your Fingerprint if they have not yet been added to Elsevier Fingerprint Engine during a regular update.
You can edit fingerprints shown in your profile, for instructions see the box below.

 

4. Collaboration map

Collaboration map. A visualization of your research network, showing other researchers and institutions you have worked with or have co-authors at during the past five years. Collaboration details can be shown as a map, as profiles or research units. 

The collaboration map indicates the location of collaborations that took place within the past five years by showing the countries/regions (and where possible, states) where you had an affiliation or where co-authors of your research outputs were affiliated (excluding co-authors from large author collaborations).

The map can be disabled in Haris admin > Edit profile > Portal profile > Collaboration map.
If Off, the Collaboration Map is hidden from both the Overview and Network sections of your profile on Haris Portal. Note: Only the map is hidden, not the Network section.


 

5. Highlighted content

Highlighted content. By default, your newest content is shown. By editing Highlighted content in your profile, you can choose which items you want to expose at the top, see picture below.

To edit Highlighted content log in to Haris admin > Edit profile > Highlighted content.

Fingerprint

What is fingerprint?

The fingerprint function is based on text mining to create dynamic concepts describing a research output or a researcher profile.

Fingerprint mines the text of scientific documents reported in Haris - the texts in your personal profile (curriculum and research areas) as well as titles and abstracts in your research outputs. These text are matched against a number of thesauri, creating weighted index of fingerprint concepts aimed at describing your research.

Every research output having a fingerprint contributes to a researchers overall fingerprint in the personal profile.

Only texts in English are used in the fingerprint feature.

Fingerprint in a person profile can look like this:

Where are fingerprints shown?

Fingerprints are shown in connection to Research output, Projects, Prizes, Persons and Research units.

What is important to fill in to influence fingerprints?
  • Title, subtitle and abstract (in Research output)
  • Description (in Prizes)
  • Profile information such as Research interests, Research areas (in the Person profile)
How are the fingerprints created that are shown on my person profile?

The fingerprints are generated based on the information in:

  • all of your your research outputs, projects and prizes
  • texts (in English) in your personal profile. Add text by logging in > Edit profile > Add profile information.
Fingerprints in my profile are not just. What can I do?
Enrich your entries and profile information in Haris:
  • Add title and abstract to all your entries, when possible.
  • Edit your profile information and add text describing your research areas and research interests. Add text by logging in > Edit profile > Add profile information. See Edit profile.
Edit misleading fingerprint concepts

Deactivate fingerprints that are not accurate. Log in > Edit profile > Fingerprint. Deactivate single concepts or a whole group of concepts.


Why can't I add concepts to my fingerprint?

Fingerprint is an indexing tool based on text mining, an indexing tool meant to be as automatic as possible. The technology behind fingerprints is new and evolving, and is not as accurate as for example manually added keywords. The technology improves, learning and adjusting, the more it is used. This is why you can not manually add fingerprint concepts to an entry or your profile.

Since the technology is based on text mining, a research output is not described as accurately as by human-selected keywords. However, the terms in fingerprint are affected by the fact that there are abstracts in the Haris entries. The more entries that have abstracts filled in in Haris admin, the more accurate the fingerprint concepts will become. Also having added curriculum and research areas in your personal profile will influence your overall fingerprint.

Read more in Elsevier's description of What is Fingerprint indexing. A list of the thesauri used as source for the fingerprint concepts can be found when logged in to Haris admin > Help and support > Pure manual > Fingerprint > Fingerprint > About fingerprints and weighted concepts.

Altmetrics

Altmetrics are alternative ways to measure the impact of a publication. Altmetric and PlumX are altmetric services that have been integrated into the new portal.

Altmetric monitors not only social media such as Twitter and LinkedIn, but also public policy documents, blogs, Wikipedia, and mainstream media, in order to show mentions of a research output. The Altmetric Attention Score is illustrated by a donut whose different colours each represent a different source of attention.

In addition to mentions in blogs and news articles, social media, usage (such as clicks and downloads), and captures (such as bookmarks and favourites), PlumX also shows references in traditional citation indexes such as Scopus and EBSCO.

Altmetrics serve as a complement to traditional, citation-based metrics, and are a way to showcase how much and what a wider range of types of attention a research output has received in society.

Learn more about the metrics in Altmetric och PlumX.

The altmetrics are connected to the separate research output. Click on the PlumX icon or Altmetric donut to see details about the metrics. A DOI is required for the altmetric services to work.