Skip to main content

Haris - Hanken research database: Register publications

Register your publications

Always register all your publications including articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, and thesis. Recently employed researchers should register retrospectively all their publications published during the last five years, including those that were not conducted at Hanken. 

How to register publications?

Before adding a new record into Haris, remember to check if it is already in Haris. If your co-author has already registered the publication, it saves time and effort for everyone involved. This can be checked in the public interface of the research database, available on http://haris.hanken.fi/portal.

  • Start to register new research merits by clicking the green button Add new content in the right upper corner in Haris’s administration interface or the plus sign “+” when you hover over the left-hand-side menu Research output.

     or

 

  • It is possible to import publications from an online source (for example, Scopus or Google Scholar) or from a file from other research databases or reference managing systems. This mainly applies to recently employed researchers who need to register retrospectively all their publications published during the last five years. Please contact haris@hanken.fi for help.

    

 


The Ministry’s publication types are relied on and the library makes the ultimate choice of the publication type. Read Publication data collection instructions for researchers 2019 (Julkaisutiedonkeruun ohjeistus tutkijoille 2019) by the Ministry of Education and Culture to decide your paper’s publication type.

How to register a peer-reviewed article (A1)

•  First choose the output type. For an A1 article, choose Contribution to journal > Article. An empty template will open. Mandatory fields are indicated by a red asterisk *.

       

•  Set the Publication category as Scientific and then Peer-reviewed. The Ministry of Education publication type A1 Journal article – refereed will be chosen automatically.

  

•  You can add different Publication status depending on if your article is in preparation, submitted, accepted or published.

               

The default setting is Published, which links to your article’s status (shown at the bottom bar of the template next to the blue Save button) being set to For approval automatically.

          

Note that only when the publication status is Published and the publication year filled in, can the status of your record be changed to For approval. Other publication statuses will lead status of the record being Entry in progress.
More information about how is my publication’s registration approved in the tab Frequently asked questions about Haris.

•  In the section of Publication information, add the information about your article’s original language, title and subtitle, abstract, pages (start and end page), and number of pages if known.

•  Add co-authors by clicking Add person. Type an author’s name to check if it already exists in the system. If your co-author is not in the system, click Create external person. It is important to add the external author’s association/organization and especially the country.

       

    Authors should appear in the same order as in the publication. Use the arrows (↑ and ↓) to the right in the template for sorting.

•  Add the journal by clicking on Add journal to search for an existing title. If the journal is not available in the list of results, add it by clicking on Create new journal (books are linked to publishers in the same way). Fill in volume and issue number if known.

•  In the section Access to fulltext, documents and links, you can add your article’s DOI number and upload a version of your article (usually the author's accepted manuscript (AAM), i.e. the post-print), after clicking Add DOI, open access document or link. You can also add links to your article in other online sources such as Scopus by clicking Add other link.

       


Note a DOI reference in Haris should always start with 10.XXXX, for example, 10.4018/IJESMA.2015100102. Do not add it as https://doi.org/10.4018/IJESMA.2015100102.

Then add the following information (see the image below):

  •     DOI, e.g. 10.1000/182
  •     choose the Document version of your file (submitted manuscript, accepted author manuscript, proof, final published version, other version)
  •     set the level of public access to your electronic version at Public access to file (open, embargoed, restricted, closed, unknown)
    •     If there is embargo, add the embargo end date
  •     add license type, if known, at License to document.

 

The Library also checks the publisher’s copyright policy. If the uploaded copy is a version not allowed to self-archive, the library will contact the researcher to ask for another version of the article to upload in Haris. The library also checks for embargoed journals, and do the settings for possble embargos.
When the library has approved your article in Haris, the document will automatically be moved to DHanken if there is no embargo. In Haris the link to the Open Access version in Dhanken is automatically generated. The article is visible in DHanken in the collection publications syncronized from Haris as well as in the subject’s collection.

If there is an embargo period, the document will be moved to DHanken after the embargo end date. The administrator of DHanken has the right to delete the document if it is a version not allowed. In that case the researcher will be informed.

Please also see How to self-archive at Hanken?

 

•  In the section Keywords, choose fields of research by clicking Add keywords. The available list is appointed by the Ministry. Chosen fields (at most six) should describe the publication’s fields of research, not the researcher’s. Mostly used at Hanken are 511 Economics and 512 Business and Management. Free keywords can also be added, e.g. the keywords used in the article.

We also recommend you to add keywords for sustainable develompment goals (SDG) and for Hanken's research areas of srength (AoS) and areas of high potential (AoHP), if your publication is in these fields of research.

 

  In the Visibility section, set the visibility of your entry. The default setting is Public – No restriction. This is one of the requirements of the bonus for scientific publications by the Hanken Foundation.

    

•  Remember to click on the blue Save button to save your registration or changes. You can re-edit all your registered research output records at any time later by clicking on the title on your personal overview page in Haris.

How to register an article in conference proceedings (A4)

Here is how to register conference papers in Haris. Note those fields that are special with conference papers. Mandatory fields are indicated by a red asterisk *. Moreover conference papers have certain fields that are not marked as being mandatory, yet nevertheless should be filled in as carefully as possible. These fields are written in red in the following instruction.

•  First choose Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceeding. Then according to the publication you are going to register, choose the suitable one from the given options, for example, Conference contribution. An empty template will open.

    

 

•  Set the Publication category as Scientific > Peer-reviewed. The Ministry of Education publication type A4 Article in conference proceedings will be chosen automatically.

     

If your conference paper is not peer-reviewed, choose Not peer-reviewed, and the Ministry of Education publication type B3 Article in conference proceedings will show automatically.

•  You can add different Publication statuses and dates depending on if your conference paper is in preparation, submitted, accepted or published.

          

The default setting is Published, which links to the status of the whole record, shown at the bottom bar of the template next to the blue Save button, being set to For approval automatically.

       

Note that only when the publication status is Published with the publication year filled in, can the status of your record be changed to For approval automatically. Other publication statuses will lead to the status of the record Entry in progress.
More information about how is my publication’s registration approved in the tab Frequently asked questions about Haris.

•  In the section of Publication information, add the information about your conference paper’s original language, title and subtitle, abstract, pages (start and end page), and number of pages if known.

•  Add co-authors by clicking Add person. Type in an author’s name to check if it exists already in the system. If your co-author is not in the system, click Create external person. It is important to add the external author’s association/organization and especially the country.

     

Authors should appear in the same order as in the publication. Use the arrows (↑ and ↓) to the right in the template for sorting.

•  In the section Titles of host publications, enter the host publication title, i.e., the title of the conference proceedings. If you do not know the title of the host publication, enter a fictional title, using the format “Proceedings of the 16th International Conference on ...” as a model.

Enter the information you know about the conference publication: publisher, volume, ISBN, editors, or details about the series information.

Note that it is particularly important to indicate the ISBN/ISSN of the conference proceedings.

To report a conference paper to the Ministry, it is required that the paper is available as full text (not only as abstract or extended abstract), that the paper is publicly available AND that the conference proceedings have ISBN/ISSN.

 

•  In the section Access to fulltext, documents and links, you can add information about the full text version of your conference paper, if the full text is available. Please make sure that your entry does not violate any copyright law of the conference, for example, about uploading a conference paper into an institutional repository.

Note that you are not supposed to upload the conference paper as a self-archived copy in Haris in the case that, for example, you will contribute the paper to a journal later.

If the full text of the conference paper, or the conference proceedings, is available, for example, on the conference’s website, please enter the link by clicking Add link to an electronic version.

     

    

•  In the section Keywords, choose fields of research by clicking Add keywords. The available list is appointed by the Ministry. Chosen fields (at most six) should describe the publication’s fields of research, not the researcher’s. Mostly used at Hanken are 511 Economics and 512 Business and Management. Free keywords can also be added, e.g. the keywords used in the publication.

We also recommend you to add keywords for sustainable develompment goals (SDG) and for Hanken's research areas of srength (AoS) and areas of high potential (AoHP), if your publication is in these fields of research.
 

•  In the section Event, enter the information about the conference. Click Add event.

Type in the name of the conference to check if it exists already in the system. If it does, choose the pre-existing one.  If the conference is not in the system, click Create new.

To create a new conference, the following information is compulsory:

  •     conference title
  •     start and end date of the conference.

 Please also add the following information, if available:

  •     abbreviated title
  •     conference number
  •     link to the conference website
  •     the degree of recognition (is the conference international, national, regional or local)
  •     the location (city and country) of the conference.

 

 

•  The fields under Relationships are optional. The conference publication can be linked to, for example, activities, prices or projects.

•  In the Visibility section, set the visibility of your entry. The default setting, also the recommended one, is Public – No restriction. If you do not want your conference paper to be shown in the public portal, you can mark it as Restricted to Haris.

   

 

•  Remember to click the blue Save button to save your registration or changes. You can re-edit all your registered research output records at any time later by clicking on the title in the overview page of your research output.